Cheyney University

New student housing at Cheney University
The founding of Cheyney University in 1852 was made possible by Richard Humphreys, a Quaker philanthropist who bequeathed $10,000, one tenth of his estate, to design and establish a school to educate the descendants of the African race.

The Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education was established by statute on July 1, 1983. As a charter member of the system, Cheyney State College became Cheyney University of Pennsylvania in 1983, the oldest of the fourteen member institutions and the oldest Historically Black College/University (HBCU) in the nation.

Today, Cheyney University students represent a variety of races, cultures, and nationalities who receive educational instruction far beyond the vision of Richard Humphreys. Cheyney graduates still become teachers, but students also enter careers such as journalism, medicine, business, science/technology, law, communications, and government service. The university offers baccalaureate degrees in an array of disciplines and master’s degrees in teaching, education and public administration.

Cheyney University is proud of its more than 30,000 graduates. Well known alumni include the late Ed Bradley, a correspondent of the CBS program “60 Minutes;” Pedro Rivera, Pennsylvania Secretary of Education; Robert W. Bogle, publisher and CEO of the Philadelphia Tribune, the oldest newspaper continuously owned and operated by an African American; Dr. Audrey F. Bronson, a member of the PA State System of Higher Education’s Board of Governors, ordained minister and retired educator; Dr. Gladys Styles Johnston, former Chancellor of the University of Nebraska at Kearney; Thaddeus Kirkland, State Representative and Mayor of Chester, PA; and civil rights activist, the late Bayard Rustin.

Cheyney University
1837 University Circle
P.O. Box 200
Cheyney, PA 19319
610-399-2275 or

Nearby Hotels & B&Bs

Additional lodging located near The Philadelphia International Airport are within a short driving distance to most hotels in Delaware County.